Add-on Mosquitto broker won't start

Hi all,

I’m new to home assistant (coming from iobroker)and have issues installing an addon (Mosquitto server).
I have hassio on a virtual machine running. Host system is Win10. Installation of the addon runs fine, but when I want to start the addon by clicken the start button (not command line), it just flickers one time and stays on status “stopped”.
I haven’t found any similar issues on this board. Any ideas how to fix this?

Many thanks,
docnight.

Have you configured the addon?

Look at the addon logs page for errors.

Log locks fine. However, no MQTT broker process running, checked at linux command line.

Log:
[s6-init] making user provided files available at /var/run/s6/etc…exited 0.
[s6-init] ensuring user provided files have correct perms…exited 0.
[fix-attrs.d] applying ownership & permissions fixes…
[fix-attrs.d] done.
[cont-init.d] executing container initialization scripts…
[cont-init.d] mosquitto.sh: executing…
[11:43:34] INFO: SSL is not enabled
[cont-init.d] mosquitto.sh: exited 0.
[cont-init.d] nginx.sh: executing…
[cont-init.d] nginx.sh: exited 0.
[cont-init.d] done.
[services.d] starting services
[services.d] done.
[11:43:35] INFO: Starting NGINX for authentication handling…
[11:43:36] INFO: Starting mosquitto MQTT broker…
1660038216: Warning: Mosquitto should not be run as root/administrator.
[11:43:38] INFO: Successfully send discovery information to Home Assistant.
[11:43:39] INFO: Successfully send service information to the Supervisor.

I used this instruction: https://github.com/home-assistant/addons/blob/91e8dc582e75b7759e82441beea8c6165e98c8ee/mosquitto/DOCS.md
However, “how to use” step 1 is already not working.
I tried all other steps either way, but without success. YT videos show that after install you can start the addon and then configure the rest, but thats not working for me :frowning:

The addon itself doesn’t provide anything in the configuration tab.