Adding Zwave & Zigbee to kill off Smartthings

Hi,

I’m fairly new to HA but id like to ask for some advise please.

I have a Smartthings deployment with around 50 devices, a mix of ZWave and Zigbee.
When first set up HA I used the Smartthings integration which works very well but the constant outages on Smartthings and their very poor support and product development is making me consider a full move across to HA.

But to do this I need ZWave and Zigbee capability on the HA which I run on a PI 4. ZWave looks straightforward with the Aeotec Gen 5 usb stick, but I am totally confused how to add Zigbee and which product /solution is best to use in the UK.

Can anyone advise what they have done, maybe to do the same re Smartthings or what product they use to set up a zigbee solution.

Any help is appreciated . thank you.

Andy

I use the Conbee II stick for my zigbee network with the deconz add-on and integration (instead of the built in ZHA). I use zigbee for 99% of my sensors, with a few bulbs thrown in to extend the mesh and make it stable.

Highly recommend the conbee.

Doesn’t matter where you life, ZigBee uses the same frequency everywhere, not like Z-Wave.

Can also recommend the ConBee II running 60+ ZigBee devices for over 3 years rock stable.

Thanks for the help. I have seen the conbee II does look to be the defacto standard .

So will try and see where I can buy those in the UK.

Andy have you been able to source a Conbee 2? In December I was going to order 1 at about £35 I recall. Courtesy of Brexit (I would assume) it is now £89 …

Hi Brian

No I haven’t yet as I am still testing out the use of HA automations in particular the use of presence with the alarm panel. Had quite a few issues with iphone presence so trying Life360.