Alexa Intent for turn lights On/Off with attributes (brightness, color, etc)

Hi,

I’m new to the HA, only poked around for like for 2 weeks. I’m configuring one Intent to be used from Alexa. I’m missing something that seems trivial.

To simplify I’ll only use one light.

I first tried this code:

TurnGoLightIntent:
  action:
    service_template: >
      light.turn_{{ OnOff }}
    data_template:
      entity_id: light.go
      brightness: >
        {% if Brightness is defined %}
          {{Brightness}}
        {% else %}
        {% endif %}

This will work when {{OnOff} is On but if I try to turn off the light it will say “Invalid slot information received for this intent.”. From my research, I’m getting that because of the light.turn_off service doesn’t have the brightness data.

So I split the service template with scripts, something like this:

TurnGoLightIntent:
  action:
      {% if OnOff == "On" %}
        script.light_go_on
      {% else %}
        script.light_go_off
      {% endif %}

Now I can turn off the light but when I try to turn on it goes always to the “default” value (the else part). The {{Brightness}} variable isn’t set in the script:

light_go_on:
  sequence:
    - service: light.turn_on
      data_template:
        entity_id: light.innr
        brightness: >
            {{Brightness}}
          {% else %}
          {% endif %}

Does anyone have a solution to this?

1. A solution without using scripts making a conditional around the data that doesn’t work with some service. In this case, the brightness of the service light.turn_off.
  2. A solution that passes the Alexa intents variables values to the scripts. In this case, {{Brightness}}