Anybody with experience moving off sqlite into a DB, i.e. MySQL/Maria?

Update: Okay, move to MySQL / Maria? I’m learning InfluxDB is used for an entire different purpose of what I’m actually looking for - moving off SQLite.

I’m looking into moving HA into InfluxDB. I’m actually new to InfluxDB, but decided on it since I can also use it for unifi-poller.

How’s your experience? Any catches I should watch out for? Any recommendations on what approaches I should take?

I’m running HA on an NUC via Docker. My plan is to run an independent InfluxDB instance (via Docker) I can share between HA and unifi-poller.

On the InfluxDB side: any recommendations on UI/management clients? I’m on MacOS.

Thanks,

This should point you down the right path

1 Like

That’s a great rundown from Franck. Thanks.

What’s your views on using HA add-ons vs stand-alone when you plan to use third-parties within the same ecosystem?

I don’t suppose there’s an HA migration to move sqlite into InfluxDB?

There isn’t, because they serve two separate purposes. SQLite is used for the Home Assistant history and recorder integrations, whereas InfluxDB is an option to export data to for long-term storage and analysis. You can point the recorder to a different database for better performance (for example, the MariaDB add-on), but the recorder needs to use some type of relational database. InfluxDB is a time-series database that stores its data differently.

However, if you want to do more of your data analysis and visualization using InfluxDB and Grafana, you could set that up and then make the number of days you retain very low for the history component.

1 Like

Oooh. Well dang. Okay, then back to my original top, moving to MySQL/Maria? I thought I could move the sqlite to InfluxDB. Oops.

Sorry. That’s my newbness of InfluxDB. Still learning all this.