AppDaemon App to get generated power from ZeverSolar inverter

I have developed an AppDaemon application which pulls generated power from our ZeverSolar Inverter and sends this to the HA front end using MQTT. No need to use REST or poll the data from the cloud.

I am new to python coding and AppDaemon, so any suggestions for improvements would be appreciated. I have shared the code and instructions in GitHub.

AppDaemonZeverSolar

SolarGenPanel
SolarGenGauge

Always good to see new apps.

Minor edit

Remember to modify the MQTT entry to suite the changes from step 3.

suite should be suit.

Thanks Nick. Changes done.

@cheongk I’ve tried your application, but I can’t get it to work. I’m also very new to HA and just using it for a few days. At step 3 I followed the instructions to add the URL of my ZeverSolar inverter, but I don’t know what to do with the MQTT message structure. When I go to the log of AppDaemon I get the following errors:

2020-01-20 09:12:16.138854 INFO zever_solar: ------------------------------------------------
2020-01-20 09:12:16.179197 INFO zever_solar: Initiatilize: Get energy from solar system.
2020-01-20 09:12:16.234570 WARNING zever_solar: ------------------------------------------------------------
2020-01-20 09:12:16.248280 WARNING zever_solar: Unexpected error running initialize() for zever_solar
2020-01-20 09:12:16.259295 WARNING zever_solar: ------------------------------------------------------------
2020-01-20 09:12:16.280984 WARNING zever_solar: Traceback (most recent call last):
File “/usr/lib/python3.8/site-packages/appdaemon/app_management.py”, line 145, in initialize_app
await utils.run_in_executor(self, init)
File “/usr/lib/python3.8/site-packages/appdaemon/utils.py”, line 276, in run_in_executor
response = future.result()
File “/usr/lib/python3.8/concurrent/futures/thread.py”, line 57, in run
result = self.fn(*self.args, **self.kwargs)
File “/config/appdaemon/apps/zeversolarget.py”, line 32, in initialize