AppDaemon + docker - How to import module

I am trying to use pushbullet and MySQLdb in one of the my AppDaemon app but not sure how to import modules. I am getting error like this:

ModuleNotFoundError: No module named ‘MySQLdb’
ModuleNotFoundError: No module named ‘pushbullet’

My python file has import as shown below:

import pushbullet
import MySQLdb

Any idea?

Anyone?
Basically I need access to the python module(s) inside the docker container application which are installed at the system level. If not possible then how do I make sure that gets installed when I run first time docker AppDaemon?
Thanks

I think what you need to do is create your own image from the official appdaemon image, and in the docker file add the modules you need using pip.

But I don’t use Docker for appdaemon, so I have no experience in doing it.

Edit A Dockerfile something like this

FROM acockburn/appdaemon:latest

RUN pip install pushbullet MySQLdb
1 Like

Nice. Let me try that. I guess I will have to clone dockerfile and then modify it add those install lines.
Not sure it’s a good idea as when next release dockerfile gets changes I will have to make changes again.
Hope there is a way to pass folder location using -v (volume ) command line to use that inside docker image.
I am new to docker so I have no idea what is better (if not best) way to do it.

But for now, I can try what you suggested, appreciate it, thanks.

problems like this is what made me decide not to use something like docker.
i think you need to look on google how to use python applications from 1 docker inside another docker.

but my gut says me that the way that @gpbenton has given you is the way you need to work.
and you are right that that means that you need to do it over and over with every update.

edit: and maybe next time use appdaemon and not third party integrations, could be that you get faster and more response.