Bad design Home Assistant Amber?

I just saw the Home Assistant Amber being announced. It’s really interesting.

But I hope the image is not representative. The heat dissipation seems very badly designed.

A heatsink inside a closed enclosure? That’s an impossible combination.

It’s either:

1. Heat is generated, you need a heat sink and enough ventilation slots to dissipate the heat.
  2. No heat is generated, you don’t need a heatsink and you can use a closed enclosure.

I’m not a professional product designer, but I’ve never seen anything like this.

I wanted to blow the flute before this is taken in production.

Please let this design be reviewed by a professional.

2 Likes

As it is Raspberry based, we all know, there is a lot of heat to carry out of the case. I’m not a product designer too, but I’m an electrician and a HVAC expert, with a lot of experience in cooling down my Raspberry’s.
You are right, this one will be hot. Physically. I also would like her better cool physically and hot on possibilities… :wink:

Good point. A heatsink in a closed enclosure doesn’t make much sense.
As there is no GPIO, adding a PWM fan is not an option, either, unless something was foreseen on the board.
That leaves the option of punching a hole in the cover, with a ever running fan, which is not ideal…

Now, HA is definitely not the most CPU intensive piece of software, so it likely is not an actual issue (and we can assume load tests were performed)

I’m actually more worried about the integrated Zigbee. I do not see an antenna connection. Might be overlooking it. But no external antenna = no deal

Yeah, I could agree on a Lil bit since most probably we all going to hit it with tons of apps. Anyway, if any of the creators reading this is there a possibility of collaborations on projects (bulk buying) Please let me know