Bootstrap.setup_component purpose

Hello everyone,

I’m working on a new component for the envisalink alarm panel (binary_sensor + alarm_control_panel). This is my first time making a platform + subcomponent- style component, and I’m struggling quite a bit with the section of code that nearly all platform-level components have in their setup() method:

component = get_component(comp_name)
bootstrap.setup_component(hass, component.DOMAIN, base_config)
hass.bus.fire(EVENT_PLATFORM_DISCOVERED,
{ATTR_SERVICE: discovery,
ATTR_DISCOVERED: {}})

My understanding is that the “bootstrap.setup_component” should take care of setting up my embedded binary_sensors, right? So I don’t need to declare them in my configuration.yaml?

If my assumption is correct, my setup_platform in my binary_sensor/envisalink component never fires:
Is there something intricate i’m missing?

Right now if I explicitly have an envisalink: section AND a binary_sensor, platform: envisalink, everything works, but my understanding is that i shouldn’t have to do that, and if I have the two config sections (one for the whole envisalink platform + one for binary sensor) then I don’t understand the purpose of those 3 lines of code (often put into a for loop).

Can someone explain how this is supposed to work? Or maybe i need to edit a file somewhere else?

Thanks!

My setup looks a little something like this:
def setup(hass, base_config):
“”“Common setup for Vera devices.”""
global EVL_CONTROLLER
from pyenvisalink import EnvisalinkAlarmPanel

config = base_config.get(DOMAIN)
host = config.get('host')
if not host:
    _LOGGER.error(
        "The required parameter 'host'"
        " was not found in config"
    )
    return False
_LOGGER.info('****************SETUP PANEL***************')
EVL_CONTROLLER = EnvisalinkAlarmPanel(host)

def stop_subscription(event):
    """Shutdown Vera subscriptions and subscription thread on exit."""
    _LOGGER.info("Shutting down subscriptions.")
    EVL_CONTROLLER.stop()