Can I delete the overview dashboard yet or should I keep not upgrading?

A while ago home assistant made a change they created a permanent overview dashboard that I could not remove that was a duplicate of one that I already had that was not called overview. Am I able to delete this dashboard that has been added into future versions without my consent or no?
Because it was my understanding that the point of this is that would be able to control my own device fully without outside interference.
Adding a dashboard I cannot remove is not giving the user full controls.
Is there a setting to disable it yet or should I still continue running offline and refusing to update anything whatsoever and using meshtastic to control and access it?

Hi, you cannot delete it.
It’s created as a way to show you what is possible and help with creating dashboards.
You don’t have to use it and it’s not eating anything.
I definitely would advice against not updating (because of this).

If you have a problem with this you could try to ask you money back!
Oh wait, this is free software: that’s gonna be hard… :man_facepalming:

You can’t delete it, but you can hide it from the sidebar.

Go to settings → Dashboards → burger menu → edit → deselect “add to sidebar”.

Select a different dash as your default from the same burger menu.

If Possible, why not ?
You could also " Split Up" Your HA install ( s ) ,
1 “older version” with entirely local devices, maybe for “specific” purposes
( What’s Specific for you only you know, it could be essential functions, or “basic” stuff )
PS: If you already have the pre-build, you have to find/install a version about 2 years old, to get rid of them all, and ofcause also integrations /add on matching that specific HA-version. OS-Supervisor-CORE-Frontend
( Honestly i haven’t tried this, as i kept quite some different installed VM’s )

As You most likely has a “need” for some cloud depended Devices/Services, You can use a Device which You will keep uptodate ( And ignore all the “Stuff” you are not interested in ) … Yes i know some times someone “manage” to break shits with some “changes” or dependencies etc. etc., so keep an eye on the Release-notes, and i.e Wait a few days/weeks before updating.

And as for the “redundant” pre-build, pre-populated Dashboards , don’t open them ( And hide them in the side-menu, and set them as Admin-Only ( Just in case you have other non-admin users )
Yes i would also have preferred they were made as an “Option”, as i.e all “native” Core Integrations
They do now and then remind me about ( something i won’t tell in here )

As others have said, no there isn’t. However hiding the unwanted junk and retaining your dashboard is easy:

  1. Go to Settings → Dashboards, rename your Overview dashboard to something else, like “Main”. Make sure it is still set as default.
  2. Update all your web browser bookmarks to use this new dashboard. Do not skip this step. It caused me no end of confusing issues recently when I was editing my dashboards.
  3. Update the system.
  4. Go to Settings → Dashboards and hide the unwanted built in dashboards (un-tick “in sidebar”).
  5. Done.

I don’t want to have another dash. I have a main dash. And now a random dash that everyone has access to with the link if they figure it out. I’m for sure not doing that and redoing the dash. I already configured browser mod and used it to deal with lack of rbac. I’m not redoing that too. Browsermod is super annoying to do. So I’ve been just using meshtastic.

You won’t have another “dash”. You will have just renamed your existing one to not conflict with the built in one. Super easy to do.

They won’t if you hide them and use your custom “RBAC”.

I have no idea how an off grid communication system is used to manage your dashboards.

The devs aren’t changing the built in dashboards. So you have two options:

  1. Keep doing what you are doing and fall further behind until a required update forces you to update at which point you will likely have a massive problem on your hands.

  2. Make a simple change now and keep up to date.

I have personally followed all those steps, yet sometimes when I open HA in a new browser tab, this default will show up (with of course nothing selected in the sidebar, because it isn’t there). I haven’t really bothered to report it, because I don’t have a sure way to replicate the behaviour.

In all cases this happened to me this was the culprit:

I think you’ve nailed it, thanks Tom: I think the reason I didn’t spot this, is that I indeed had an old bookmark in my favourite bookmarks, and other cases if I just opened a tab (or had an open one) and started to type http://homeassistant… with no path, it would go to the right place (I must’ve been doing this interchangeably). Now when I use the old bookmark I can see that it redirects /lovelace/main to /home/overview. And the mobile app has never done this, which then makes sense. I’m assuming this is built-in handling in HA’s web server or something. Anyway, enough guessing. Pretty sure it’s now fixed.

The main home assistant is blocked from external Internet access and I use commands on a private channel to deal with it. It’s just automations that do things and request specific information.

The one I have that’s online doesn’t have access to some stuff like access to my moorebot scout.

Or locks or my inside garden.

So to be clear, the main instance of my home assistant needs to continue to remain offline and I have to use a janky system of other home assistants on virtual machines with one that’s online and one that has administrative controls using meshtastic on a private channel? Because I’m not upgrading it if I can’t delete something on my own system. That’s silly af.