Cannot get my door sensor to work

I have never tried to do a multi-sensor before but thought that I would give it a go. Started off downloading ESPhome but ran into the integration not see my usb connection. Tried tasmotizing and then converting to ESPhome and got a “connection refused” error. So Tasmota it is. I am trying to keep track of the temp in my server closet so I have a DHT22 sensor for temp and a reed switch for the door that will turn on a light when the door is open connected to a D1 mini. The DHT22 part was simple enough.

Connections:

• – 3.3V
  • – GND
    data – D4 (GPIO2)

Works great and came in to home assistant perfectly.

The reed switch however is a different story. I connected it between GND and D5 (GPIO14) as SWITCH1 but nothing is in home assistant. I understand that there is no relay on the D1 mini so I tried to bring in the state of SWITCH1 using an MQTT binary sensor.

- platform: mqtt

name: "Server Door"

state_topic: "stat/SW_Server_Node/SWITCH1"

payload_on: "Closed"

payload_off: "Open"

qos: 0

device_class: door

I am pretty sure that I am missing something but I have been trying to find examples and documentation and coming up short. Does anyone have any references or examples they could share?

Can you use

or

I cannot get ESPHome to work at all if that is what you mean? I have created a new node, tried several usb cables, restarted and uninstalled and reinstall the add-on several times. I am never able to use usb to upload to the D1 mini and when i try OTA, i get that the connection is refused,

Did you try setoption78 1 ?

I saw that but I thought that meant if you received an error in tasmota saying the upload of the ESP binary wasn’t successful. I would download successfully but when I go to the ESPHome add-on, I get the connection refused error when I try to edit the configuration and upload the changes. I can give it a try though,

SO78 1 did not change anything for me