Change state of a sensor?

Hopefully this is an easy answer because I’m relatively new to Node Red.

I am using Insteon 6-button keypads through an ISY994i. The On/off buttons are registered as lights, however the A, B, C and D buttons register as sensors with values of 0-255. Before using the ISY994i, I used the pyinsteon integration and all 6 buttons were seen as lights and I could control them as such.

In the HA Developer Tools, I am able to set the state of the A, B, C, D buttons, and the change reflected on the actual keypad.

I’ve tried the light, HomeAssistant, switch, and isy994 domains, but haven’t been able to get the State to change. Since HA is able to do it so easily in the Developer Tools, I imagine it must be pretty simple? Any help is greatly appreciated!

So I mean you can do this. It actually isn’t super easy by design because its not really recommended but more in a sec because some of what you’re seeing confuses me.

First the how. The way to do this is to use the REST API directly. You’ll notice the HA pallette of Node RED comes with an API block. This can be used to make raw calls to the REST or websockets API of Node RED (whereas the other shapes essentially wrap these calls in a nice UX). The one you want for this is a POST to /api/states/<entity_id>, check the doc for the spec on this.

Now, why is this not recommended? HA expects state to be set from the integrations and the devices they talk to. HA essentially sees itself as essentially a view into your home. It is collecting the current up to date state information from all these things, showing it to you and letting you act on it. But it isn’t the one changing the state of these devices, its only means of interacting with them is the services the various integrations provide.