Device claims Alexa, WiFi, etc support. How do I know it will work with HA?

I’m new to this automation quest. I need a device to turn a 120V / 2kW hot water heater on and off. Found one on Amazon but it gives no specs on the firmware controller being used although a user comment stated it uses the Beken module. In general, most devices don’t specify the controlling firmware involved but do specify Tuva, Google Home, Alexa, etc.

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0BVW4HBN7/ref=ox_sc_act_image_2?smid=A1RNR1GQTFIIOU&th=1

How does one know that HA has the capability to control these devices instead of the cloud based services that I want to avoid?

Generally speaking things that are WiFi are going to mostly be cloud based - if all they mention are things like Google and Alexa that’s a good warning. Things that mention Tuya or Smart Life are part of the Tuya ecosystem, which is also cloud based, but some may work locally with a suitable custom integration. Of course, two apparently identical Tuya devices may be totally different under the hood, even if they have the same model number.

If you want something guaranteed 100% local then you want Zigbee or Z-Wave (and eventually Matter, but Matter is still pretty early days). Otherwise hit up your favourite search engine to see if you can replace the firmware with Tasmota or ESPHome - which may require some soldering.

1 Like

You should, as a rule, check here before buying a device that you are unsure about to make sure it’s supported. Quite a bit of that stuff on Amazon that says it works with Alexa, Google, etc, has local integrations written for HA (like Tuya for example, which is cloud based but has been hacked to work locally).