Did I just brick my NodeMCU?

So I’m very new to using ESP8266 boards, and just got a NodeMCU to try to connect relays and a HC-SR04. I managed to get the relays to work using ESPHome, then I moved on to trying out the HC-SR04. I uploaded the codes and connected the pins:
Trigger to D1
Echo to D2
VCC to VIN (the seller said my HC-SR04 runs at 5V)
GND to GND

I powered the board using the micro USB connected to an Anker powerbank. The entity showed up so I created a card to check the readings. It came out as “Unavailable”, so I powered down the board and powered it on again just in case it needed a restart. It still showed “Unavailable”. I restarted it several times just to be safe, but it still didn’t work. So I unplugged it.

I searched around in the forums on how to get the sensor working, but got no helpful results so far. So I tried powering it on again, but now it won’t show up as “online” on the ESPHome tool in HA. I unplugged all the pins and checked my wireless router settings and found out that it’s not connected to the network. Then I checked the VIN pin against the GND pin using a multimeter and found out that it’s only outputting around 1.75V and the 3V3 to the GND only outputs 0.9V.

In a desperate attempt, I tried to delete the board from the ESPHome and intended to reconfigure everything using a USB connection, but it won’t show up either. it only shows OTA (Over The Air) on the top right menu bar.

While connecting the pins to the HC-SR04, I did find out that some of the dupont connectors were bad, so I had to switch them out and tested the continuity using my multimeter. The board was powered on when I did that, so it’s possible I shorted the pins several times.

So is it possible that I just bricked my NodeMCU?

Sounds like you have burnt out the 3.3v regulator. Are you any good at SMD soldering?

1 Like

Did you try hooking it up to a usb charger?
Perhaps it’s the power bank?