Disable the user if the phone is lost. Problem solved.
Remote wipe is a wonderful thing.
Remote wipe the phone and leave your HA infrastructure alone. That’s what remote wipe is for. All the majors have the capability, Samsung and Google have this feature under find my. Apple has something similar Set it up.
Is there a way to delete a “person”? I created several new users recently, per recent changes, for several devices (tablets) to have their own login. Because I added a device “tracker” to each user, home assistant created a person entity for each. Is there a way to remove this person entity? I don’t want all these “people” in my zone tracking! Reading the comments above has helped me understand that I shouldn’t have added devices to the users. This is not explained in the documentation. I may just delete the users and start over, which is always part of the home assistant adventure.
Why not simply remove the device tracker from those persons?
You just need to follow steps 2 & 3 here, only this time instead of adding a device on step 3, just remove the existing one & save.
Thanks, I was aware I could do that but the OCD in me can’t accept not used entities left behind!
For anyone looking here, once you have deleted the user, you can delete the person. Then recreate the user if needed.
Something that makes it even more confusing is that if you have the slider to ‘Allow login’ on the People, there are 2 places with the username/password. Under the People tab and under the User tab. Have not tried if these are in sync…
There are no passwords on either tab. There are only passwords when you edit a person or user. Both showing the user password.
I have been testing with User and People and it seems there is only 1 password and username if you set the slider to ‘allow login’ for People. Luckely.
The confusing part was probably that a lot of us had Users way before the invention of People and therefor have no corresponding People record for user accounts that are actually People.
So for 1 user I removed the user account and started from the People tab creating a new user account as well(by setting the allow login slider).
As an admin I would like to force a new user to use multi factor authentication setup on first login, but that is complete different feature.
Thank you for the feedbackText
I’ve created a person for mosquitto by accident, Is there a way to delete the person whilst still keeping the user intact?
I can’t seem to find this documented anywhere, just the other way around.
No, just delete the person and recreate the user.
Thank you, this worked.
I did the same, created mqtt user as a person, not as a user. I did this many years ago. Was afraid to clean it up. Can I ask, if i delete the person, then create the user, setting uername and password exactly the same, then does all of my mqttt devices just keep working without any changes to them?
Thanks
Yes, it should work fine.