Direct Shelly control from ESP32

Hi. I’m new to hhttp_requestome automation with a big learning curve ahead of me. My first project was using 2 DS1820Bs with an ESP32 development board to monitor the flow and return temperatures on my central heating boiler on HA. It works a treat! Project #2 is temperature control of a fan heater in my greenhouse. I have a Shelly 1 Plus that I want to control with a local ESP32/DS18B20. I want to avoid going through HA as it is presently running in a virtual machine on my PC, so not particularly stable. I am not familiar with the mechanics of the HTTP protocol (and even less familiar with C++) and have been unable to identify code that will operate the Shelly from the ESP32. I feel that this should be a very simle issue that many other beginners will have come across. I would be grateful if someone could explain why the following code - which validates within ESPHome - doesn’t operate the Shelly device when the URL will work using a standard browser;

http_request:

dallas:
  - pin: GPIO33

sensor:
  - platform: dallas
    address: 0x9d3ce1e380c92628
    name: "Greenhouse temperature"
    on_value_range:
      - above: 5
        then:
          - http_request.post: http://192.168.0.150/relay/0?turn=off

Is the shelly also running esphome?

No. It’s ‘out of the box’. I thought it should be simple to control that way but perhaps this is a misconception dues to my lack of knowledge of the OTA protocol. I think I need to understand how to parse that URL and break it down into its appropriate components.

Ive had some Shelly’s forever and i didnt even realize you could do direct communication like this. I knew mqtt was an option but, this is good stuff to know too.

Speaking of mqtt, why not just use that? I realize its not device to device and needs a broker but, its a very reliable communication method also and you can run a broker on just about anything.

Two reasons really: