Docker / MQTT help required (solved ...sort of)

I’m new to Docker, but have been running Grafana and Influxdb in Docker for a few weeks whilst my Homeassistant was running on Hass.io on a Raspberry Pi.

I decided to install Homeassistant (not Hass.io) on Docker and it mostly works except for MQTT, devices that use MQTT do not appear in HA. I’m using configuration.yaml file copied over from my hass.io instance.

I’m assuming it’s either a configuration issue, an MQTT access issue, either communication is not happening due to password or port issues. In Hass.io MQTT just worked with no username and password.

Entry for MQTT in configuration file is:

mqtt:
  broker: 127.0.0.1

although I’ve also tried 192.168.2.52 which is the machine’s IP address.
Can anyone tell me how to start troubleshooting this issue please?
Thanks.

Get mqtt app on phone or PC
HA config pages that allow send mqtt message.
Send message from ha and see if receive in phone

Are you using ha internal mqtt broker?

Also look here https://www.home-assistant.io/docs/mqtt/broker/

If using embedded broker should be like

mqtt:
  password: yourpassword

Hi

I’m trying to use the internal broker but I’ve a strong suspicion that I’m missing a step. I haven’t defined an MQTT password anywhere so I don’t know what password to enter…
or is

mqtt:
  password: yourpassword

where I define my password?

Yes…and if using embedded broker that is all you must define unless you want customize. It is at link provided above

For your docker container you should have 1883 exposed so devices may communicate with HA inside docker container

Hi, thanks for taking the time to help :slight_smile: