Editing Existing Components Python Code

Hi Everyone,

This is my first post here because almost all questions I’ve had have been asked and answered already in this awesome community. I have some programming and linux experience but I am relatively new to home assistant (And know relatively nothing about jinja although I’m working on it).

So I have VeSync Etekcity Smart Outlets on my network. And I noticed the state values for the current energy usage was different than the VeSync App. I did a little investigation and I realized the python module the Hass Vesync component loads uses the average energy consumption over the active time of the device, which is completely off because if you switch the outlet on and off it divides the usage over the past 24 hours by 1, 2, 3, … minutes. Here is a snippet of the code:

def get_power(self, cid):
        """Return current power in watts of a device"""

response = self.call_api('/v1/device/' + cid + '/detail', 'get', headers=self.get_headers())

if response is not None and response:
            if 'energy' in response and response['energy']:
                if 'activeTime' in response and response['activeTime'] is not None:
                    watts = self.calculate_watts(response['energy'], response['activeTime'])

if watts is not None and watts > 0:
                        return watts

return 0