Errors with Home Assistant and HBMQTT

Hi there,

I am just getting started with Home Assistant. I setup with the Raspberry Pi all in one installer and it all seems fine except I cannot seem to connect to a broker.

I tried the default setting and the embedded broker and kept getting errors. I fiddled with the configuration.yaml using different settings gleaned from the posted examples.

This is my current error message:

The following errors have been logged this session:

16-09-11 08:35:58 homeassistant.components.mqtt: Can't connect to the broker. Please check your settings and the broker itself.
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/srv/hass/hass_venv/lib/python3.4/site-packages/homeassistant/components/mqtt/__init__.py", line 238, in setup
    client_cert, tls_insecure, protocol)
  File "/srv/hass/hass_venv/lib/python3.4/site-packages/homeassistant/components/mqtt/__init__.py", line 324, in __init__
    self._mqttc.connect(broker, port, keepalive)
  File "/home/hass/.homeassistant/deps/paho/mqtt/client.py", line 686, in connect
    return self.reconnect()
  File "/home/hass/.homeassistant/deps/paho/mqtt/client.py", line 808, in reconnect
    sock = socket.create_connection((self._host, self._port), source_address=(self._bind_address, 0))
  File "/usr/lib/python3.4/socket.py", line 509, in create_connection
    raise err
  File "/usr/lib/python3.4/socket.py", line 500, in create_connection
    sock.connect(sa)
ConnectionRefusedError: [Errno 111] Connection refused
16-09-11 08:35:58 homeassistant.bootstrap: component mqtt failed to initialize

I thought that it might be something to do with HBMQTT not being installed/configured correctly. When I tried to reinstall / update it I get the following error:

Exception:
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/srv/hass/hass_venv/lib/python3.4/site-packages/pip/basecommand.py", line 215, in main
    status = self.run(options, args)