EspHome Native API question

Disclaimer:: I am not a network expert hence my statements could be wrong

Hi,

logging my network activity with Wireshark I see Esphome flashed ESP8266/ESP32 send a decent amount of broadcasting messages querying for home assistant IP address.

This leads to a load of the network and IoT devices has usually a limited wifi bandwidth: a huge number of devices could reduce it.

I was wondering if it could be possible (and meaningful) to add to native API component an parameter to make explicit which is HA instance IP address in order to avoid broadcasting.

The api protocol is pretty light and your method could lead to issues for people who don’t know better and use a dynamic address for HA. I suppose ESPHome could fall back to scanning if the fixed address isn’t found.

You can suggest the idea here: https://github.com/esphome/feature-requests/issues

Paste the link here if you do raise a feature request. I’d like to read the dev’s response.

thank you very much!
done!

1 Like

for who is interested I added more info analyzing network traffic with wireshark

I did more search and, although unsure, I am wondering whether the mDNS packets shoot but ESPHome devices are due to local mDNS transponder (introduced in v1.11.0) and not by Native API.

I searched the web to see if I could find some reference about how to disable it but couldn’t find anything.
Maybe someone can advice?

I think you are worrying unduly. If your network can’t stanf a burst of 80 packets, you need to fix your network (I think, like you I am not a networking expert!)

Hi Nick,

Had this issue in the past and synology support (I have a synology rt2600ac + 2xmr2200ac in mesh config) told me burst above 40 packets / s are not suggested for network stability.

I think powerful devices like tablet, pc, smartphones can handle easily: issue is when these hit IoT low power devices like esp8266 or similar.