HA development with Docker

Hi folks. New to HA.

I’m a software engineer and so first step after getting HA running was to fork the repo and run my own fork.

However-- I’m running HA with Docker on my RPi3 and the docs are only about developing on an OS with virtualenv and friends.

Did I miss the docs on developing with Docker? Happy to write some based on my findings.

I found https://github.com/home-assistant/hassio-builder, and am forging ahead with this command:

docker run --rm --privileged \
            -v ~/.docker:/root/.docker \
            -v /run/docker.sock:/run/docker.sock:rw \
            -v $$(pwd):/data:ro \
            homeassistant/armv7-builder --armv7 -t /data

Is this the right way to go?

Home Assistant and Hassio are technically 2? different things. It gets very confising.

Home Assistant can run in a Python venv or Docker
Hassbian is a Home Assistant venv build with scripts and an OS image for Raspberry Pi
Hassio can mean a couple of things.

• A Docker container Docker installation of Home Assistant & Supervisor that can use Docker container addons.
  • The above. + a custom HassOS Hypervisor in an installable image.

The “right” way depends on where your interests lie. Most of the developers hang out on the Discor chat server, i believe.

Thanks @anon34565116

I believe I fit in this category:

• A Docker container Docker installation of Home Assistant & Supervisor that can use Docker container addons.

I am running the docker image homeassistant/raspberrypi3-homeassistant - if I can figure out how that is built, then I will be able to do the rest. It feels like this should be obvious :smiley:

I see a Dockerfile in the source repo here. There are 18 branches though.

Interesting post here. I wonder has this guy nailed the options https://www.awesome-ha.com/