HA Docker Container - Installing Addons

I’m just getting started with home assistant. I opted for the containerized installation inside docker on my linux pc because I don’t have dedicated hardware yet. Also total beginner with docker (I see the potential, but oh the learning pain!).

I’ve run through guides to get set up through docker-compose. I’m running MQTT, nodered, mariadb, Zwave_js_server all in separate docker containers (thankfully I found tutorials and docker containers for those).

Here’s where I hit a roadblock which has got me worried…
I was trying to set up automatic backups to git. Everything went well (following another guide). But I got to the end where I was supposed to use an automation within HA itself to trigger a shell script on a schedule to backup all the configuration files to github. I cannot for the life of me figure out how to call that script on the host from within the containerized HA installation. Every guide I’ve found uses SSH & Web Terminal, Shell_Command addons. Just install them via Supervisor or the addon store or HASSIO. But I cannot find either of those things in my installation. What the heck is Hass.io? What is supervisor?

Yes I am aware that I could use a cron job to schedule the backups. Finishing the backup task isn’t what’s got me worried, its just my first indication that the containerized installation might have a serious drawback.

I’m about to start installing my many many smart devices. And I’m likely going to need addons to do so. How does one install addons in a containerized HA installation?

Is there a way to access the addon store from the container version of Home Assistant?
Are there docker containers and docker-compose config templates for all the addons in the store?
Do I need to start over with an OS installation on dedicated hardware to gain access to addons?
Am I completely misunderstanding something here?

1 Like

It is what Home Assistant OS was called over a year ago.