HACs question - What does update information do, vs Redownload

In the HACs menu, what does update information do, vs Redownload?

Update information checks if there is a newer version and proposes you to update to the newer version if exists.

Redownload means select any version you want to download.

Thanks so much

Update information will update the version list, but also the description you see about the integration. Sometimes a developer adds important info to the description of an integration that was not available at the time of the newest release.

And does re-download actually update the version you are running, or do you have to re-start HA or some other way to re-load the newer version?

You should always restart HA after altering an integration, also if it is a redownload

1 Like

We can easily generalize this and say that, any changes on python code requires a restart, right?

Thanks everyone.

1 Like