Hass.IO and ble beacon (Ruuvitag)

Hi,

I’m quite new to Home Assistant/Raspberry (done lot of industrial automation and PLC programming in real life), but little bit confused about Hassbian vs Hass.IO. I’ve been trying to find information that is there any possibility to use Ruuvitag BLE beacons with Hass.IO or is it more stripped/limited than Hasbian?

I’ve seen few example codes how to use Ruuvitag in HA, but it wasn’t that clear is it possible to do with HASS.IO image downloaded from Home Assistant web page. If it is is there someone who could explain how to do this, because most of these things are different in HASS.IO?

I wouldn’t want to use Hassbian anymore if it is not the future of Home Assistant.

Thanks

There used to be problems with BLE monitoring on Pi, but maybe that has been resolved. I use std BT for presence detection with HassIO and it is pretty flawless.

Hassio doesn’t let you install additional libraries (pip), but you can add custom components just like you would in Hassbian.

I’m also interested in to know how to set up Ruuvitag to Home Assistant at Hass.IO.
Has anyone updated instructions to this?

For examble what are requirements for this:

The instructions have you copy the files to the custom_components directory. You can create this on your Hassio system in the /config directory.

I copied the files to the /config/custom_components/ directory and edited configuration.yaml file.
Sensors are now visible at the overview but state is unknown. I’m still missing something?

Error on polling sensors
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/config/custom_components/ruuvi-hass/sensor.py", line 88, in poll
    self.conditions = self.RuuviTagSensor.get_data_for_sensors(self.mac_addresses, self.timeout)
  File "/usr/local/lib/python3.7/site-packages/ruuvitag_sensor/ruuvi.py", line 93, in get_data_for_sensors
    for new_data in RuuviTagSensor._get_ruuvitag_datas(macs, search_duratio_sec, bt_device=bt_device):