Hass.io not restarting. Vitrualbox+Ubuntu server on Win10

Hi,

Ive been using the past few days to try and set up home assistant on an always on PC (used for Blue Iris).
The problem i have is that every time i restart the pc, i cant get home assistant to work again. So i must redo the whole install process in order to access ha again, which is then a fresh install without any of my integrations or entities…

I run the PC on WIFI (if that makes any difference) with Ubuntu server installed in Vitrualbox.

Yes, im a total beginner, so im probably doing something obviously wrong.

Thankful for any input!

Are you manually restarting Windows, or is it rebooting on its own?
If you are doing it manually, I would highly recommend doing a clean stop of HA and shutdown of the Ubuntu VM prior to rebooting Windows.

Hi, have I understood correctly that you’re running hass.io on Ubuntu via virtual box on win 10?

If that’s the case is there any reason you didn’t just use the VDI build of Hass directly on virtual box?

I do that and it works flawlessly. I have a script that runs on start up of Windows that starts the Hass VM headlessly. No issue with exposing USB devices to Hass either.

1 Like

I had some problems where the pc changed its network device for some reason. And due to this, everything shut down.
After that, i could not access HA no matter what i did.
Ill have to look up how to make a clean shut down, not very familiar with anything of this right now.

Yes that’s correct.
Ive been following the advice that i found online as well as some youtube videos that were pretty easy to follow.
It seemed that using Virtualbox with ubuntu server and docker was the standard way of getting it on a windows pc. So this was the reason for using that solution.

I have not seen anything on installing a VDI build of Hass directly on Virtualbox. Is there a guide to setting it up with VDI?

Also, if i get it running, do you have a link to the script?