Heiman smoke detector doesn't report smoke detection

I got a Heiman smoke detector. I connected it via deCONZ, and Home Assistant is correctly reading it as a smoke sensor as a binary entity, which occasionally updates to report “No smoke detected”.

However, the entity is unresponsive when I test it with the test button, and even when I trigger the alarm with actual smoke. It just doesn’t update the entity.

I’m not sure how to debug this. Anyone had a similar problem? Did I get a faulty unit?

Also, can anyone confirm that the test button is supposed to trigger he HA entity? Just so I don’t have to get out the candle constantly to test it.

1 Like

I have the same problem, the dectector used to work and report to HA some time ago if the test was triggered but nothing now. In phoscon it reports as device unreachable.

Hi,

I am quite new to Hass (from Slovenia so not native in ENGL).
In the last two months I managed with a big help of a perfect guides to create few integrations, add add-ons, automations, dashboard with animated background, etc.

But this smoke detector is killing me for the last few days:(

So what I did till now:

• managed to integrate smoke detector using Conbee II and ZHA (raspberry pie 3+)
  • smoke detector is integrated but does not swtich from mode “clear” so it can not trigger notification or be part of any automation (the sensor is working - it was tested with smoke and button)
  • what I tried is also to change status manually in Developer tools - it worked
  • I saw a guide for zigbe2MQTT integration. So I also added MQTT but it can not be installed as I am already using ZHA on same USB Conbee II (on which I have already 20+ devices, automations) so I do not wan’t completely switch to zigbee2MQTT

Guide:

Many users with same issue:

Do we have any clear solution to this? :confused:

I am thinking of buying CC2531 and add it on another USB port and conect to zigbee2MQTT. WIll it work? :slight_smile:

Hi @real_ist!