Help me make a great dynamic light automation script

This is my first attempt at making a proper advanced automation in HA, even though I’ve had the system for a couple of years. I’ve got programming experience, but I’m not used to the ins and outs of HA, and I’m sure there are plenty of pitfalls. So I’m turning to the forum for help, hopefully you can help me realize this idea.

I live in Norway and we have very changeable light conditions. Not only is no day the same with regards to how long the sun is up, but the light during the day varies a lot throughout the year as well. It’s a lot of rain and dark days too, and so I want to make my apartment just the right amount of bright and cozy in any day, by pure automation.

I have a Sensative Strip via Zwave with a Lux sensor outside, and a plethora of different Zigbee lights inside. I’ll be focusing on the living room for now. The behaviour I would like is as follows:

1. After [morning], the most recent value of the lux sensor will be read, and an approperiate set-point will be targeted. The light will slowly fade to this during the course of 30 minutes.
  2. Between 9 and 18, the light target will be set high
  3. Between 18 and [bedtime], the target will be set to dimmed
  4. Light will dim to 0 for 45 minutes after [bedtime]

If there is too little light outside, the artificial light will boost the inside level. When it’s bright enough, the artificial light will fade to 0%. It will start to compensate for the fading light at dusk also.

My sensor is a power-saving one and will only report every 1 or 2 hours, except for if it notices a doubling of half of the lux value.

This one shows my idea of how to add the light on a bright day

It looks like I should make three automations, one for morning, one for evening, and one for the interval in between. I’ll focus on the daytime one.

I was thinking to do like this:

automation:
  - alias: "Autolights"
   trigger:
      platform: event