Help needed for generic automation variants

Hello Community,

as all my posts till now, Newbee Questions :slight_smile:
as already written, I’m new to Home Assistant, but spent the last three days playing around and thinking if I should migrate my automations from OpenHAB to Home Assistant.

right now I’m playing with automations and I’m a little bit stuck.
what I want to achieve:
I have some homematic light switches, and I have some hue bulbs. On the HUe bridge I have grouped them, and have some scenes. The groups are associated to my rooms, but one room can have more than one hue group.
What I ultimately want to do: I want to press a button on my wall-mounted tablet and start a particular scene (like dinner, breakfast, TV, etc.). In order to achieve this I need to check the state of my homematic switches and perhaps turn them on. If i turn them on, i need to wait some seconds (3 are mostly enough) to push the desired hue scenes to the groups. so far so good.
What I also want to achieve is to keep my automation codebase pretty generic, so basically I want to use the same “module” for all my rooms. (Thats one of my current painpoints in openhab, since openhab is not really good in abstracting such things, and I have everything multiple times, for each room).
so back to home ASsistant:

• I built above with an appdaemon app - that works, but I cannot really find a smooth way to start the app. The only way I found is with a Helper element that holds the data (light entities, and their hue group and scene key/value pairs). but as it seems there is no way to trigger a appdaemon app directly from e.g. a lovelace card?
  • I tried with a Home ASsistant Scene, but this cannot handle the delay I need between