Help on how to add "toys" to my BLE proxy

Hello,

Long time user of tasmota, total newbie to ESPHome.

I got some bluetooth esp8266’s (I think), and I followed the quick instructions from the ESPHome site to make them into BT proxies. I got 3 of them working great, and at the moment they are only connecting to mmwave sensors and sending the info to HA.

I have learned that to find good tutorials it helps to have keywords, and I don’t seem to have the correct ones since I am not finding what I am looking for.

The Esp;s I have set up as proxies are ONLY working as proxies, so not using any of the pins. How would I go about getting control of some of those pins to connect to relays, buttons, etc?

Also, interested in using the BT proxies to detect cell phones BT signal. Thinking of automation based on the different cell phone movements around the house.

I didn’t think esp8266’s had bluetooth as standard(I could be wrong). Post a picture of the devices and someone may be able to help

In the back of my head I was thinking about what you mentioned, and doubted if I was using 8266’s or not, which is why I added the “I think” part lol.

I am actually using Live Mini Kit ESP32’s for my BT or BLE (not sure which is the correct term) proxies.

Specifically the CH9102 Type-C USB

GPIO relay

Search the documents in esphome. It does all that stuff about using the rest of the gpio pins. Bluetooth shares 2.4ghz with wifi so not ideal to use both wifi and bluetooh together for alot of stuff. How have you setup your proxies? Written the yaml yourself or adopted a device in? Proxies probably not good for phones as bluetooth changes mac frequently for phones for security apparently. Bluethooth proxy only good for some stuff an not all bluetooth things.