Help to understand the "Big Picture"

Hi, I am new to Home assistant, I got a raspberripi 4 4gb, download latest yesterday version and install ok no problem it’s up and running.
I have only a chrome cast audio, and I can cast some text to speech to it ;-))

But I need some directions on the “big picture”.

I don’t want to go too fancy, just few on/off some disable light, Shutters, radio, some private voice assistant later (now Snips belong to Sonos that path is now uncertain, and Almond look very young). Broadcom RM mini 3 RF bridge (TV remote), maybe I could move CCTV from NAS depending on drive storage …

Hardware : does anybody boot Home Assistant on their Pi from usb 3 drive, or is it still in waiting ?

Network : What is the best practices, do you reserve some manual IPs in your router for your devices (sonof, shelly, etc …) and start DHCP over that first range ?
I have 2 routers at each end of the house, one is the main one, the other is in repeater mode with WDS so only one network. do you use a specific. Vlan for your devices to split the traffic ? How badly do you need SSL , DNS for basic home use ? (Which unmissable add-on do you recommend)

Firmware : I think I would go for some Shelly 2.5 for the widows shutters and maybe a couple of dimmer. I already have with me 2 Sonof basic original in their box (no tasmota yet). Should I go for Tasmota on Shelly 2.5 too? Tasmota for Shelly dimmer ? Do you mix shelly and tasmota firmware ?

Terminal into hassio? I can’t find a way to type a command line directly into hassio, where is it hidden. (I need to change IP address). No ssh neither. If I put a screen on the raspi, I don’t have a usual prompt ???

Node red : after install, I got 502: Bad Gateway, I need to sort that out, not sure about secret credential and SSL … I would feel more confortable if I could sort out the all network options related first