Help with basics of converting and presenting router up time in days

I am a total newbie with HA so apologies in advance (and I have read posts/info but i’m lost)!

HA setup and running fine. Have added an integration for my router (UPnP integration)
Added an Entity Card to the dashboard that shows IP and up time for the router
Up time is shown in seconds so I thought it would be easy to change this to days

But it goes down hill from here…
From what I understand I need to create a ‘template’ do achieve ths
I have made a start in dev tools - template and managed to return the value - see below

{% set total_seconds = states('sensor.rt_ax86s_uptime') %}
The Router uptime is {{total_seconds}} in seconds (but the value is a string not number)

but when I try to divide total_seconds to get to days I get an error. I think it is that the attribute/state is not a number?

But even if I can get this to work, I just don’t understand where / how I actually make the changes so that it displays correctly in the dashboard.

I think there must be a dummies guide that I am missing :slight_smile:

Well I hope you folks can help me. HA looks powerful but possibly a bit technical for me.

You can convert a string to a number with |int or |float

For the template editor:

This is a string: {{ states('sensor.rt_ax86s_uptime') }} seconds
This is a number: {{ states('sensor.rt_ax86s_uptime')|int(0) }} seconds
So: {{ (states('sensor.rt_ax86s_uptime')|int(0)) / 86400 }} is days
And: {{ ((states('sensor.rt_ax86s_uptime')|int(0)) / 86400)|round(2) }} is a bit neater!

Note where the brackets go: on the last one, for example, you need to round the result, not just the 86400.

The (0) on the int filter is a default value: if, for some reason, your sensor isn’t working, the template will return 0 rather than throwing an error. This is discussed here:

Thanks. Making progress.