HomeKit Bridge - Previously included devices removed

Newbie needing HomeKit Bridge help. I’m using the UI as YAML is too much for me for now. I’m trying to find how to amend/add to what was included without losing the previous selection. I filtered domain to light and picked all lights to include. After editing those to the correct room in Home I’ve ran config again to pick another domain (switch). However when I’ve opened Home again all previous entries from other domains have been deleted. Am I missing something obvious? It appears as though if I go back into config and want to add just one device, I have to reselect every previously selected device to avoid them being removed. TIA

JohnW,

Chose the gear icon

You _should_ see your previous settings. Click on the ‘domains to include’ drop down, where you can select your additional domain (switches) to include.

Click on the ‘domains to include’ drop down, where you can select your additional domain (switches) to include.

With those steps, are you able to get to this point where your previous selections are still intact? (once your next domain(s) is(are) selected you’d press submit and add the devices)

Hi @bob.t - thanks for the reply. What I’m finding is that if I complete it once as you’ve shown, everything is there. But if I go back in and configure again (to add a light I’d missed for instance), once I’ve selected the ‘include’ and ‘light’ domain the resulting page where I select doesn’t have the previous entries populated. So I’m starting afresh each time.

I’ve just created a HomeKit.yaml file and amended configuration.yaml to include it. I didn’t really want to resort to that but the UI method isn’t great; needing to scroll through a long list and pick one at a time. Coming from Hubitat both their own HomeKit integration and HomeBridge were far easier (click a panel and tick/untick each device)

HA is going to be a huge learning curve for me. I thought my 40 node Z Wave migration would be the worst bit but that’s all done and I think it’ll be the automation that takes forever to replicate before I can retire the Hubitat.

When I started out (coming from Hubitat too) I selected “Bridge” and “Include” on the “Select Mode and Domains” dialog when I started with this, and it’s always showed what I’ve previously selected when I return to add/include more devices. You shouldn’t need a HomeKit.yaml. If I were in your shoes I’d remove the HK integration (and homekit.yaml) and start over by reinstalling the integration (as a matter of fact, I think I did that due to initial confusion with what that dialog).

Note: I forget what/why I put the following into the configuration.yaml file, not sure if has anything to do with you losing your previous selections. Maybe someone passing by educate us both

# Added this re: Apple HomeKit
zeroconf: