How do I install Home Assistant on a Synology NAS

As a result of the Insteon shutdown, I would like to install Home Assistant so that I can use my existing Insteon hub and devices. I recently read a post that someone install it on the Synology NAS, which I’ve been using for a few years as a backup as well as a photo and video dipository. If this is possible and can work with the Insteon hub, I would like to know more. Any advise would be greatly appreciated.

I cannot comment on Insteon as no (!) experience at all
I have 218+ with 6Gb and started my HA setup on Syno with docker which worked fine until I started to add more consuming containers as deepstack and probably also related to the video streams related to my cams. Then I moved part of it to a second-hand NUC with 8G and Ubuntu 21.10
In the end, I found the docker install on Syno as stable as on Ubuntu
The benefit of Syno is indeed an easier integration with its video/music but honestly, that is also configurable from my NUC with some ploughing through the how-to’s.
As I had no hardware issues with my NUC, I am OK with this but I can also imagine that if the Syno is setup with some sort of RAID then one is safer there.
Long story short: if you are OK with HA under docker…then Syno can do it

First off, is your Synology NAS a “plus” model? If it is a “j” model or non-plus, it probably doesn’t have an Intel processor and support for Docker and VMM is not included. I bricked a DS216j trying to force Docker onto it, before I broke down and bought a DS918+.

Second suggestion is to download/install the VMware full HA OS system image, and run it as a VM under VMM on the Synology NAS. The base Docker install is just that, and much of the added features come from a full HA OS supervised install.

The one gotcha is that Synology does not save the USB port mappings for a VM between NAS reboots, so you will need to manually attach the port each time you reboot the NAS if you use a USB stick for Z-Wave or Zigbee.