How to get weather forecast for 2 days from now?

I am using home assistant to control valves for irrigation of my trees and using external factors to control valve start time and duration. For best irrigation, it is extremely helpful to know (or estimate) the temperature, humidity, and wind speed in the next 2 days. I tried to use Weather Underground, but it only supplies current data or a general description (like rainy, sunny) for the forecast. I have looked at the other weather components, and they don’t seem to supply a forecast of this data either. Has anyone tried to do this?

I did see that Weather Underground’s api will supply a json file with the forecast having the information I need, but it looks like I would need to create a custom component. I was hoping that perhaps there was something more readily available, as I am relatively new to Home Assistant (been using it for 2 months).

Thanks!

There was a pull request for this but it died on the vine, so to speak.

https://github.com/home-assistant/home-assistant/pull/4455

I have a pull request in for a 7 day forecast in for Darksky

https://github.com/home-assistant/home-assistant/pull/5264

I’m a git noob though and the documentation pull is a mess. I haven’t gotten back to it yet.

If you don’t want to wait, just pull down the darksky.py file from my branch and add this to your configuration

forecast:
monitored_conditions:
  - temperature_max
  - temperature_min
  - wind_speed
  - humidity
1 Like

I really wanted to get WU as I send my WX Station data there so I like to get my hyperlocal weather.

I’ve been using the minutely, hourly, daily attributes of the current darksky.py like this:

-  platform: darksky
   api_key: !secret forecast_io_api_key
   monitored_conditions:
     - minutely_summary
     - hourly_summary
     - daily_summary

I’ll have to try out your PR - I never liked the daily summary anyway.