How to interact with the "broker"?

I am pretty new to HA world, and a bit confused on what the actual capabilities are of this HA/hass.io

I understand that Hass.io work as a “broker” between two entities - but how does these entities communicate, and is it only commercial entities, or can it also control custom projects (Wemos d1 mini)…

The most insane thing would be to have a google assistant via voice control my home-brew projects on or off?

I am general not sure on how I expose my stuff, such that Hass.io can see them, and how I from a third entity can via Hass.Io controll a different entities?

How do i send a message to a broker and the how do i receive it?
How does this work with commercial Items, do they already support this or?

Are you talking about MQTT?

Your question is confusing as there is tons of documentation on the website about what components work with HA.

Home Assistant, and most home automation software, is much more than just a “broker”.

It’s not a perfect metaphor but home automation software is like a good concierge in a hotel. He or she is able to speak many languages and can communicate with customers from many countries. Ask the concierge to do something and he knows how to get the job done. The concierge knows what time to wake you up, order you a taxi, or remind you to bring an umbrella. The concierge knows how to do some things without your input and can do other things as per your instructions.

Control a home-brew switch using Google Assistant? Yes, Home Assistant can help you do that.

not sure on how I expose my stuff

Some networked devices report their presence on the network (the “network” can be Ethernet, zwave, zigbee, etc). Usually Home Assistant can discover these device automatically. For devices that cannot be discovered, you must manually enter information describing them.

How do i send a message to a broker and the how do i receive it?