iCloud: retain configuration

I do understand that 2 factor authentication (which is pretty much standard these days) and the way Apple implemented it, requires regular re-authentication. This is a given and there is probably little that can be done about it.

But what could be improved is how things are handled while/after the authentication happened.
Why am I required to reconfigure (area) all discovered devices?

Proposal: If the integration is successfully re-authenticated, it retains it former configuration for any device that has been configured already. Only devices that are newly discovered require a new configuration.