Kinda stuck with a REST issue

I have been struggling with a REST config issue for a few days now and after lots of searching and reading I am stuck and could do with one help. FWIW, I am new at this so be kind.

I have configured HA to collect data from my networking cloud service, Aruba Central and after reading, researching and reverse engineering what other people have done, I finally have this working pretty well. However, the Bearer token needs to be renewed every 2 hours and this is my challenge. To renew the Bearer token I need to send a POST request along with some credentials (client_id, client_secret, grant_type and refresh_token) to the API in the form of a payload. In return I get a new access_ token and a new refresh_token.

I have tried to do this with the Restful integration, Rest Command and Rest Sensors, with each one failing for a different reason.

RESTful integration - Can’t template the payload

rest:
   - resource_template: https://eu-apigw.central.arubanetworks.com/oauth2/token?client_id={{ states('input_text.central_client_id') }}&client_secret={{ states('input_text.central_client_secret') }}&grant_type=refresh_token&refresh_token{{ states('input_text.central_refresh_token') }}
    method: POST
     scan_interval: 5400
     headers:
       accept: application/json
       content-type: application/json
     sensor:
       - name: "Central New Refresh Token"
         value_template: "{{ value_json.refresh_token }}"
       - name: "Central New Token Type"
         value_template: "{{ value_json.token_type }}"
       - name: "Central New Access Token"
         value_template: "{{ value_json.access_token }}"
       - name: "Central New Token Expires"
         value_template: "{{ value_json.expires_in }}"

RESTful Command - Can template the payload and this seems to refresh the token but I can’t access the response.

rest_command:
  token_refresh:
    url:  https://eu-apigw.central.arubanetworks.com/oauth2/token
    headers: