LED Matrix MQTT

Dear all,

I found this project which is absolutely cool. BUT this project is kind of hard coded and not really flexible.

My question is: Is there anybody out there who is familiar with coding / Arduino etc to make this project more generic to use for HomeAssistnt?

Here the link. Would be great if some guys would oick up this project and help to develoe.

I’m no Coder / programmer so I dunno where to start.

I’m also on discord : ThUnD3r|Gr33n or even XMPP [email protected]

HELP APPRECIATED!!

Thanks fellas.

2 Likes

I just did something similar for garage door notifications on a single 4x8x8 max7129 display. It’s MQTT is limited to the info I wanted but would be easy to generalize because of the callback loop on the ESP.

I’m using the homeassistant statestream to publish to MQTT from HA events

Is this what you’re looking for?

Absolutely! If it would also be possible to send some generic messages or messages from notifier or something …would be awesom.what exactly can your matrix?

I use tasker on the phone to send custom messages to the topic. That’s another topic altogether

You can send MQTT messages through the HA MQTT tab under dev MQTT options, the funny looking vertical scale icon.

Here is the repo with the ESP code.

and here is the output video:

Video of output

I have played with MD_Parola sprites on arduino but either there is a ESP compat issue or a revision of the library is missing stuff b/c sprites like pac-man don’t compile in the demo.
Haven’t poked around b/c it’s not important to me, but it wouldn’t be that hard to send an animation parameter through MQTT can capture it much like the brightness is captured.

Remember, the code has an “If statement” so you can now call it AI. :slight_smile:

The other guy’s code is more sophisticated so I’ll have to take a look at it. I just wanted something that would tell me if my latest project was working (sonar sensors for garage doors).