LG WebOS TV not playing Media

Hi Community,

I am very new to Home Assistant platform, I am hoping if someone can please help me out.

All i am trying to do is to get my LG WebOS TV to play local media, I am able to control via Home Assistant in every other way, its fully paird and I can turn it off/on, control volume and change source etc but I can’t get it to play local or any media via automation.

I am trying it via “Service Call” using “Play media” service, I can play media on Chromecast but not on LG TV.

On’y difference I can see is that when I select Chromecast its under “devices” but LG TV is under “entities”

Running latest version of HA OS. trying below script

service: media_player.play_media
data:
media_content_type: video
media_content_id: ‘media-source://media_source/local/bluey.mp4’
target:
entity_id: media_player.living_room_tv

i have the same problem.

share_media_demo:
  alias: Share media using tv demo
  sequence:
  - service: media_player.play_media
    data:
      media_content_id: media-source://media_source/media/example.mp4
    target:
      entity_id: media_player.lg_webos_tv_uh650v
  mode: single

Executed: February 24, 2022, 11:52:40 AM
Result:
params:
  domain: media_player
  service: play_media
  service_data:
    media_content_id: media-source://media_source/media/example.mp4
    entity_id:
      - media_player.lg_webos_tv_uh650v
  target:
    entity_id:
      - media_player.lg_webos_tv_uh650v
running_script: false
limit: 10
1 Like

Same problem here still in 2023… Both media_extractor and play_media no luck there, these did work with Chromecast and Android TV boxes…

Logs don’t show anything, the service seems to work just the TV doesn’t do anything (tried to change source on TV also to like YouTube app, just seems there is no “cast” application per se).
Hope someone has figured it out by now!!!

service: media_player.play_media
data:
  media_content_id: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2eA2Koq6pTI
target:
  entity_id: