Living Room Lights

Hello everyone, I am rather new with HA and in need of help.

Here is what I am trying to do:

1. When I enter the living room the light should turn on. The light should remain on as long as there is motion detected or the tv in the living room is on.

2. The light should turn off if the tv is off and there is no motion detected for 10 minutes.

I already have the motion sensor, the tv and the lights set up in home assistant, and they are all working and being detected, I just need to figure out how to create this automation.

1. The ID for the TV is: media_player.lg_webos_tv_oled77c16la
  2. The ID for the sensor is: binary_sensor.vardagsrums_sensor_1_motion_2
  3. The ID for the lamps: light.fonster and light.taklampan_vardagsrummet

Any help would be appreciated.
/Thanks

What have you tried?

post what you have tried and someone can guide you from there.

Honestly not much. I know how to create a simple automation in the gui, that if motion is detected, turn on the light, and I know how to add an action to turn off the light after 10 minutes.

But I have no idea how to make it check if there is movement before the light is turned off, nor do I know how to make it check if the tv is on.

Those checks are called conditions.

So in your case you should make two automations

• one that turns the lights on with motion

• another that turns the light off after 10 minutes of no motion as the trigger with two conditions - that the tv is off and there has been no motion for 10 minutes.

All of that can be done via the UI.

Tried to paste this code into the automations.yaml (not sure if the code is correct or not?)

- id: '12345678'
  alias: Turn on light when motion detected, turn off after 10 minutes with no motion and TV off
  trigger:
    - platform: device
      device_id: binary_sensor.vardagsrums_sensor_1_motion_2
      domain: binary_sensor
      type: motion
      for:
        seconds: 1
  action:
    - service: light.turn_on