Malicious hosts interacting with HassOS

Hi - I’ve been running Home-Assistant now for a few months. I have a network monitor of sorts (Akita) on my home network and it includes some external monitoring. I’ve had that for a few years and never a peep until recently. The customer service reached out and said there was an apparent virus coming from the IP address of my HaassOS.

We still see connections to malicious hosts from IoT Device: 20:16:d8:57:0d:40 / Liteon Technology Corporation / 192.168.1.222
Request to IP: 209.17.96.242, 128.14.152.45, 104.206.128.30

My installation is currently in a VirtualBox on Windows 10 as I prepare to move this to a NUC. I am on all current versions as of a couple days ago, which is Core-2021.2.2, Supervisor-2021.02.6, and Home Assistant OS 5.11, and HACS 1.10.1. My host machine is Windows 10 running version 6.1 of VirtualBox.

The MAC is my PC and the 222 IP is my HA. The 3 other IPs are apparently malicious hosts.

Nothing particularly bad seems to be happening, but it definitely has the Akita folks alarmed. I was able to capture a wireshark file against one of those IP addresses. I’ve blocked them in a firewall on this PC for now. It just captured a few packets in one exchange over a few days before I locked out the firewall.

Any suggestions as to what to look for?

I believe I have a pretty vanilla setup. It includes a Aeotec z-wave stick. I have a number of HACS and Add-Ons installed, but I don’t think anything unusual. Let me know if that configuration or my configuration.yaml helps to troubleshoot. I have many devices including many that work thru the cloud.

Thanks,
Rick

They are definitelly suspect IP addresses.

https://www.abuseipdb.com/check/209.17.96.242

https://www.abuseipdb.com/check/128.14.152.45

https://www.abuseipdb.com/check/104.206.128.30

The fact that your monitoring indicates that the traffic is originating at your address 192.168.1.222 means you have very likely been compromised.