Managing automations

Hi All, I’m new to Home Assistant and have kind of a noob question. Is it possible to combine automations in groups in GUI? Because of how Home Assistant works it often requires to create many automations to handle one thing. For example: I have plug in hybrid car and I charge it at night, so for it I have at least 4 automations:

1. turns car charger at 10pm (for the next automation)
  2. at 10:01 send me a notification if car charger is not consuming power saying that car charger is not connect, than turn off charger
  3. at 4am turn on charger
  4. at 1pm turn off charger

So you see that first two and last two does one task actually, but because Home Assistant mostly works in trigger->action flow, it required me to create 4 automations for it. It is not a problem for me, but when I go to Automations in GUI it shows me hundreds of automations ordered by name and it takes ages to manage them. Would be super nice if it would be possible to just put that 4 automations into “Car charger” folder/group/list.

Thanks.

You may want to look into packages. It lets you collect all the components for a particular area, topic, etc together into a single file. For example I have a weather package that has in it automations, scripts, helper entities, sensors all related to the weather. Makes for easier modification.

That is for overview tab, I don’t want my automations to be shown in overview tab.

Create a seperate dashboard for them then.

That seems to be good for handling all that stuff in files, but is there is a way to have it gui?

Nope. Hence our other suggestions.

You can always use the filtering criterion on the Tools/States page. If you are clever with your naming it should be easy to display related groups.