Memory Usage Issue

I’m fairly new to this so could be ignorance but I seem to be running out of memory on the esp device: esp8266ex 4M (see below).

I can get code to run by commenting a switch, un-comment and fails with dump (all zeros).

The device is reporting 4Mbytes, but the file size I’m generating seems way less than that. I’ve trimmed code, removed the web sever stuff but still get issue.

Any ideas, am I missing ob?

--------- Arduino Mem tool reports:
Flash real id:   0016405E
Flash real size: 4194304 bytes

Flash ide  size: 4194304 bytes
Flash ide speed: 40000000 Hz
Flash ide mode:  DOUT
Flash Chip configuration ok.

---------- EspHome Compile:
RAM:   [=====     ]  49.6% (used 40652 bytes from 81920 bytes)
Flash: [=====     ]  46.3% (used 483792 bytes from 1044464 bytes)
Building /data/moisture_sensor_prototype/.pioenvs/moisture_sensor_prototype/firmware.bin
Creating BIN file "/data/moisture_sensor_prototype/.pioenvs/moisture_sensor_prototype/firmware.bin" using "/data/moisture_sensor_prototype/.pioenvs/moisture_sensor_prototype/firmware.elf"

--------- Upload Info
Files size:
Size:    476 KB (487,952 bytes)
On Disk: 480 KB (491,520 bytes)

Using 'COM7' as serial port.
Connecting....
Detecting chip type... ESP8266
Connecting....

Chip Info:
 - Chip Family: ESP8266
 - Chip Model: ESP8266EX
 - Chip ID: 00D163B3
 - MAC Address: F4:CF:A2:D1:63:B3
Uploading stub...
Running stub...
Stub running...
Changing baud rate to 460800
Changed.
 - Flash Size: 4MB
 - Flash Mode: dout
 - Flash Frequency: 40MHz
Erasing flash (this may take a while)..

Using 'COM7' as serial port.
)Writing at 0x0004c000... (100 %)Wrote 487952 bytes (326162 compressed) at 0x00000000 in 7.3 seconds (effective 534.4 kbit/s)...
Hash of data verified.

What does this mean?

To clarify, I’m not asking for help in debugging compilation issue but rather best practices for reducing the file size.