MotionEye Native Integration (New Custom Component)

I’ve whipped up a native integration for the MotionEye (camera) API. The main benefits are:

• Automatic discovery of cameras.
  • Trigger camera actions with Home Assistant events.

So you can do things like this card, which controls my CNC machine and has pan/tilt:

Details, pictures, examples, etc. can be found here. The github project has the README and installation.

I’ve tested it with dozens of cameras on my CCTV system, but this is my first time sharing a component with others. Please be patient and let me know how it goes!

3 Likes

Hi, I am inexperienced and I am trying the CC especially because it seems much easier to use the commands for the Pan and Tilt, I wanted to know something, why with the addon I see fluid straming, while with the CC I see 1 frame every 10 seconds? Thank you

Short answer: MotionEye UI is built for streaming, whereas Home Assistant cameras (not just this add-on) are rendered as 10s stills in the picture glance card.

Specifically, this component implements a type of mjpeg camera. Such cameras have a still_image_url (updated every 10s) and a mjpeg_url (stream). When you use a standard Picture Glance card for a camera, it uses a picture – aka, the still_image_url. If you want to see the stream, you should be able to click on the card to view the it in a popup. However, this will depend how you configured the MotionEye add-on. It is necessary that the HA backend have access to the streaming port on the MotionEye instance.

TBH, I find it much easier to run official MotionEye installs rather than using the HA add-on, which is not actually supported by the MotionEye devs.

Incidentally, improving that popup is one thing on my wishlist for this component.

I have just installed this and I get the cameras created. But how do I start the streaming? I have added the cameras to lovelace picture-entity. Ex:

- type: picture-entity
      entity: camera.camera4
      camera_view: live