Muddled up entity under device

Hi,

I’m new to home assistant, but it seems good. I’ve found with the Qubino ZMNHBDx Flush 2 Relays unit I bought, that the device naming is behaving oddly, and the entities under the devices don’t seem right.

It created 3 devices, each with a switch under it, and some other sensors. There are actually only two relays, the extra device just turns both the real ones on.

Anyway, the entities are …

switch.qubino_goap_zmnhbdx_flush_2_relays_switch_3
switch.qubino_goap_zmnhbdx_flush_2_relays_switch_2
switch.qubino_goap_zmnhbdx_flush_2_relays_switch

For some reason, the one with _2 at the end, us under a device where everything else has _3 on the end. The switches entities are all jumbled up. How can I fix this? Or is it actually right?

Also, for one of these, I renamed the device, and all the entity names under it got tidied up too. This didn’t seem to happen with the other two. Any thoughts why?

Cheers!

It created 3 devices, each with a switch under it, and some other sensors. There are actually only two relays, the extra device just turns both the real ones on.

The Flush 2 is a Z-Wave multi-channel device. In HA the instances of multi-channel nodes are treated as separate “Devices”, that is the intended design. One of the uses of Devices is that they can be assigned to an area. For example, in this case one of the switches could control a light outside, the other switch could control a light in your living room. If it were a single Device you could not assign different areas to each switch. For a primer on multi-channel devices, you could read this.

Also, for one of these, I renamed the device, and all the entity names under it got tidied up too. This didn’t seem to happen with the other two

Because Device renaming only propagates to the Device’s child entities. Since there are separate devices, you’ll either need to rename the other devices as well, or directly rename the entities.