My migration to improve Hassio performance and increase security

Background:

It’s been over 2 years since I started to use Home Assistant. As a complete novice, I got my start watching Ben’s BruhAutomation videos on YouTube. Over those 2 years I’ve continued to upgrade HASS every month integrating everything I could as part of my home renovations alongside my brother in law @Zpeed. I now use HassIO and it blows my mind the amount of integrations that are possible with the docker add-on libraries.

Long story short… The Raspberry Pi 3B+ that I upgraded and migrated to months back just doesn’t cut it anymore for the workload and automations that I get Hassio to do. The more and more integrations that I add to Home Assistant it’s turning into something that our household can no longer live without, so when it crashes/loses performance/sd card is full or corrupt there’s a mini-crisis as I frantically try to figure out what’s going wrong. I can see that many others are in the same position and those who’ve migrated onto dedicated servers, they’re very happy once they do. So I’ve decided to migrate the bulk of HassIO’s workload to a Virtual Machine running on my always on Windows Server. As part of this exercise I’m also going to beef up the security aspects of my setup and try to encrypt all services in the house that are exposed to the net.

My Goals:

1. Setup a new instance of Hassio running as a VM on my Windows Server that will bear the bulk of HASS’s workload
  • The easiest way to do this for me was to use the supported VMDK file and run it using VirtualBox. Hopefully as more users use this approach, more addons will support this setup too.
  1. Keep a lightweight instance of Hassio running on my Raspberry Pi