My new VM installation does not have supervisor or HACS

I am new to this, but have managed to install a VM (version 7) on my Windows10 PC.
I have downloaded the haos_ova-10.4 image file and un-zipped it ok.
HA has been installed and will run, but I have no supervisor or add-on facility.
It would be useful to construct a dashboard so that I can access my Solis inverter and other items on my LAN and wireless network. Do I need the update of haos_ova-10.5 ? (I have already downloaded this on my PC).
Any suggestions?

What VM software (hypervisor) are you running? How do you mean that you unzipped the image file?

1 Like

Nothing under settings → add-ons ?

HACS is not an add-on, it is a custom integration, to be installed separate.

1 Like

HAOS has supervisor, so pretty sure you have it (otherwise i don’t think it would even start)

and as @francisp said, hacs is optional and needs to be installed manually…

Hi Ryan,

My software is Oracle VM Virtual Box. I downloaded the haos_ova-10.4 virtual image file which was in Zipped format. I then used Winzip to unpack the file and save and paste into the HA load page on my VM.

It seems to be working OK as I have set-up the Home Assistant in VM and it starts and runs. I get an inserted black screen with the white script start up routine followed by the green ‘ha >’ prompt. There are no red error messages.
Then I can’t seem to do much else. I want to load and configure my first dashboard. There doesn’t appear to be a HA supervisor or HA add-on option. It seems as if I have the version that does not support these!
Does this help?

Jon

And that is all you ever going to see in virtualbox. Now you go to a normal computer, open a webbrowser and navigate to http://homeassistant.local:8123. There you can create a user, and after that create dashboards etc.

provided your mDNS works…
if not, use the ip number (check your router)

Ah-ha, I think we are getting towards identifying the problem.