Need help to trigger dumb doorbell remotely

I have a dog which goes crazy when the doorbell rings. In the past we’ve had the same reaction on other bell sounds (the microwave’s pling is a famous one), and this could easily be trained in the past by repeating the sound over and over again. I would like to try the same with our doorbell.

I tried the manual approach, but the doggo is too smart and notices if one of us is missing from the living room (to ring the bell). He simply doesn’t react at all if this is the case. So, I need something different and would like to come up with a solution to trigger the doorbell remotely or automatically ever X seconds to fool him.

My doorbell is wired and makes use of a transformer that outputs 8v which is located in the fuse box. It seems like the button and chime both have a wire to this transformer.

What would I need to accomplish my goal, and how to wire this?

I’m a complete hardware noob, as this would be my first project, so please keep technical complexity to a minimum :wink: Thanks for all help!

Lots of options (as always) but here are a few I have been investigating myself to make dumb doorbell smart:

@frenck wrote up a great beginner tutorial for just this - it has zero soldering (but you might need just a little if you want to use the transformer power that need to stepped power down or convert it from AC to DC):

For myself I believe my transformer is outputting 16v AC (from my research this is typical). I haven’t tested the wiring yet, but I was able to look up the model online and confirm so it should be accurate.

I thought I was being smart and found a board that could run off the low voltage AC, the Sonoff SV, but after putting in an order, I realized that the 5-24v is DC only… Since I need to change the power from AC to DC I found a regulator that will do that - the output is 12v DC which can power the Sonoff SV in isolation mode.