Need some suggestions or ideas for a custom component

Hi guys,

As I’m totally new to HA and building component for it I need some suggestions from experienced people.

I’m trying to build my first custom component - I need a few sensors(or maybe devices? I don’t know) with a few attributes each that will show to some astronomical values on a daily basis. Like built-in moon and sun sensors, but for different celestial bodies and different data.

I want to see something like:

• astro_calcs.body1 (with a state and attribute1, attribute2)
  • astro_calcs.body2 (with a state and attribute3, attribute4, attribute5, attribute6)
  • astro_calcs.body3 (with a state and attribute7, attribute8, attribute9)

Basically I want:

1. Multiple items (sensors or devices or I don’t know what else it could be).
  2. Combine all of them under one name (e.g. astro_calcs) for simplicity.
  3. Each item will have different number of different attributes.
  4. Attributes will be different for different items.

So my questions are:

1. Should I use sensors or devices or platform? Sorry for incorrectly used terminology - still learning all that.
  2. Should I use async or sync setup/update? (async_setup, async_setup_platform or setup_platform). Tried to look into a few moon/sun integrations and they are all different. Not sure why.
  3. Are you able to point to any existing component similar to what I explained above so I can study to create my own one? What to see how to create multiple sensors under one name.

Yes, I did check that: https://developers.home-assistant.io/docs/creating_component_index but still cannot get my head around. Really want to see anything similar - not in terms of astronomical calculation (I can do that by myself), but rather than multiple items. Like what HA does for person.user1, person.user2 etc.