New to HA, help with z-wave automations / scripts

Hi fantastic people!

I’m very new to HA, and home automation in general.
I’m an experienced control systems engineer and automate I/O and routine tasks (usually Visual Basic so others can easily understand it, don’t judge, I haven’t needed to learn Python much yet) for a living.

I’ve got a bunch of Fibaro dimmers (and a single quibino dimmer), some multi sensors of various brands, and some Aeotec Wallmotes.

When I first set up some motion sensors, I started experimenting, and tried making an automation of:
When motion detected, if dark, turn light on.
Simple enough. Cool.

Next I wanted to make it so that when motion was detected again, or by a different sensor, that it would turn the light back off, but only if it had been turned on by the first automation, not manually.
There was no option for “if this automation ran recently” in the conditions, so I made an input boolean that I can turn on to flag when the first automation had been the one to turn the light on (adding a condition that if the light was already on, it wouldn’t fire).
I went looking for the ‘turn on my new input boolean’ in the actions, nope, not there.
So, I made a scene where the boolean was on, and a scene where the boolean was off. Now I don’t even need the booleans, I can see when the scenes are on and off?
No, it seems that scenes being active. not booleans, are available in the conditions… hmmmmmm.

Giving up on that, I’ve taken a look at the WallMotes.
I can see the button pressed, button held, and button released events, I can select those events under ‘device’ in an automation, and I can toggle a light on and off based on them. Cool, so far so good.
I want to change the dimming level of a fibaro light based on sliding along the wall mote. Hmmm. No value for position of the finger… Fine, let’s do some digging.