New to Home Assistant - what to install on Raspberry PI4 without flashing SD card?

I am completely new to Home assistant, I’ve spent a lot of time trying to understand what I would need to install, I know that I could flash an SD card and have everything done for me.

I have Raspbian Buster on my SD card already, and I’ve been automating my devices using Node-red, Mosquitto using a CC2531 USB board, this is working nicely, I have charts I can view and everything is running pretty well. Do I even need Home Assistant?

If Home Assistant will improve on what I have so far, then I’d like to know how to install this without flashing over what I have built this far. Do I need docker? Can I install on top of what I have?

So many questions I know, but reading through installation instructions is making me even more confused, I saw a new post that PI4 is now supported but the instructions don’t show anything about PI4 just PI3.

Don’t know where to go from here.

Hello… I have two raspberry Pi (3B+ and 4 on two different remote locations) running HA in a virtual environment (So I installed HA assistant like any other app on Raspbian). You can find instructions on Home Assistant Website for installing in a venv… I find this install more flexible (but needing more work to maintain) as I am running Nagios as well on the two raspberry pi for monitoring my networks (interfaced with HA), mosquitto to use MQTT between the two sites, use MQTT for some plugs and collect data from Smappee devices, MariaDB as database, SSL, Apache and MRTG (monitoring tool)… The two raspberry pi’s are booting on SSD (it is a little bit tricky on Pi4 as it is not natively supported yet)… If I can help further, let me know.
So regarding installing Home Assistant or not and in which environment, it depends what you want to do or add compared to your existing installation and your level of confidence in maintaining a Raspbian environment.